Those pesky elves!

I know we are now in a new year, and Christmas is as far away as it will get in our minds there is still one more Christmas tale to tell. So please indulge me one last time!

As a parent, I have to admit that I am always relieved when the Christmas elves return to the North Pole after the holiday season. Don’t get me wrong, I love the magic and excitement that the elves bring to our family’s Christmas traditions, but trying to come up with creative and mischievous ways for them to misbehave every night before bed can be a bit overwhelming.

For the uninitiated, the Christmas elves are tiny, mischievous helpers of Santa who come to visit children during the build-up to Christmas. They are said to watch over children and report back to Santa about who has been naughty or nice. In our family, the elves are a beloved tradition and are placed in different locations around the house every night before bed, as if they have been causing mischief while the kids were asleep.

While the elves can bring a lot of joy and excitement to the kids, they can also be a bit of a hassle to keep up with. As a parent, I have to remember to move the elves every night, which can be challenging with a busy schedule. I also have to come up with creative and appropriate “bad things” for the elves to do that won’t cause any damage or confusion. It can be a bit of a juggling act to keep up with the elves, especially when you are already trying to manage the many other tasks and responsibilities that Christmas brings. Thankfully our 2 elves are friends, so they can get up to their badness together and don’t need separate “bad” activities.

Don’t tell the kids, but I am always glad when the elves return to the North Pole after Christmas. While I will miss the magic and excitement that they bring, I am happy to have one less thing to worry about during a hectic December. I am sure that Santa will take good care of the elves, and they will be back again next year, ready to bring more holiday cheer to families like ours worldwide.

Published by Rich

Rich Gardiner is an aspiring writer based in Northern Ireland. This blog showcases his random thoughts on ...................anything and everything!

Leave a comment