Stupid Dancing People in Cars

As well as being an avid reader, I am also a prolific listener of audiobooks.

Friday had seen my last audiobook come to an end and I hadn’t selected a new one to listen to yet so when this morning came along with its frost and snow, I didn’t have time to pick one or I risked the wrath of the boss for being late.

Driving away from the house peering out through a small gap in the ice that had taken a fancy to my windscreen, Spotify had popped up on the radio as my phone connected to the car and the music I was listening to last night came on. Being in somewhat of a wee bit of a hurry I let the players play on and as song, after song came on, I was glad I did.

You see when I was younger and “cooler” you would never have caught me doing this but as each new song came through my work van’s dodgy speakers I found myself becoming that guy you see in traffic jams singing along with the songs, playing the imaginary drums and putting on an air guitar performance to rival the best guitarist.

Yes, people looked at me and even though I became one of those “Stupid Dancing People” in cars it brightened my mood and the few people I noticed smiling as they drove the other way, hopefully, brought a bit of humour and fun to brighten up their Monday morning. Life can be too serious at times, so let your hair down and have fun, after all, it’s important to remember in the scale of the universe we are just a tiny insignificant piece and who cares if someone sees you being silly for 30 seconds?

Have a great week ahead.

Published by Rich

Rich Gardiner is an aspiring writer based in Northern Ireland. This blog showcases his random thoughts on ...................anything and everything!

Leave a comment